Twitter is not going to notify you when another user adds you to a list anymore. Earlier today Twitter announced this through its Twitter Safety account. Mainly because these list notifications do not matter, and because Twitter’s lists are anything but hidden it makes sense as to why Twitter decided to do this.
Since the change was notified through the Twitter’s safety account, it could suggest that the change might have another agenda.This might be Twitter putting its foot down against the troll accounts. Given the massive number of Twitter troll accounts which have been using list notification to disturb other users.
This way Twitter is protecting its users from hateful notifications and is leaving trolls with less reasons to spew vile. It’s very similar to the company’s reason behind introducing keyword muting for replies in the past.
We want you to get notifications that matter. Starting today, you won't get notified when you are added to a list. https://t.co/82xiaZbg1W
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) February 13, 2017